There is a story associated with St Peter’s Church, Slinfold which concerns the common folklore motif of a new bell being lost in transport. The bell in question is thought to have been enroute...
Category: Other Mysteries
Dating from the 14th century, the parish church of St Mary the Virgin and Holy Cross was reputedly involved in a strange experience in the late 17th century. The incident involved Susanna (nee Brawne) (died circa 1671) and her husband Sir John Dormer of Lee Grange (died Leghorn (Livorno) 1675), who are interred in the church.
On 26 December 1908 an apparition was witnessed outside the vicarage in East Rudham. The apparition, witnessed by several people was identified as Rev. Dr. Hugh Astley, the Vicar of East Rudham. Astley had recently been in a railway accident, bt was not dead, so this was a strange experience involving the apparition of a living person, known all three witnesses.
In September 1986 an experience on Four Ashes Lane, led to speculation that a large Green Man haunted Cryers Hill. The following article entitled ‘Phantom of the Forest’ was published in the South Bucks Star on 26 September 1986 and concerned Mark Nursey’s experience which took place six days earlier.
The "Dead Hand," or the "Holy Hand," as it is sometimes styled, alluded to in the foregoing tradition,is the centre around which quite a galaxy of marvellous tales have gathered. It is known to have belonged to Father Edmund Arrowsmith, a Jesuit, who suffered the extreme penalty of the law at Lancaster, on the 28th August 1628.
An area behind the British Museum was known as Southampton Fields.
Ye Olde Cross public house in Alnwick, also known locally as ‘Dirty Bottles’ is a Grade II listed building with a legendary curse. The bottles after which it received its nickname are sealed between two glass windows.